The role of civil services is an important syllabus to be covered in the UPSC examination. A person who clears the exam becomes a civil servant in various disciplines. The civil service plays an important role in the administration, policy-making, and administration. They take our country towards development. The IAS exam is tough as far as its syllabus is concerned. It demands strong determination and requires long study hours. 

The three pillars of democracy are:

  1. Legislature
  2. Executive
  3. Judiciary

The civil services come under the executive part. Ministers form the temporary part of the executive. They get reelected by the people through elections. The civil servants are the permanent part of the executive committee. The civil servants are accountable to the ministers in charge. Thus the civil services is a subdivision under the government. The officers come under the permanent staff of various departments. They are generally the experts at the administration level. This is also referred to as the public service. The aspiring candidate joins the IAS academy in Chennai which covers all the subjects for the examination. Thus the academies help the candidates to pursue their dreams. 

The functions of civil services include:

Basis of government:

The government cannot be formed without the administrative machinery. 

Implementing Laws & Policies:

Civil services implement laws and execute policies framed by the government. 

Policy formation:

These people are responsible for policy formulation as well. The civil servants give their advice to the ministers with many facts and ideas.

Stabilizing force:

The ministers in the government will not have a stable position. But the civil servants are the permanent people which gives a sense of stability and continuity. 

Social change and economic development:

They are responsible for successful policy implementation which gives a positive impact on the lives of the people. They ensure the service reaches the beneficiaries.

Welfare schemes:

The services provide a variety of welfare schemes that include social security, the welfare of the weaker, old-age pensions, and poverty alleviation. 

Developmental functions:

They perform functions like promoting modern techniques in agriculture, industry, trade, and the banking sector. 

Students who aspire to become civil servants can join the top 10 IAS academy in Chennai which has an efficient faculty team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.